Exams

For anything related to the Goblin's Community beyond the forum, or for anything that does not fit elsewhere. Newcomers should introduce themselves here.
Jibjib
Game Master

Exams

Post by Jibjib » Sat May 25, 2013 10:07 am

As we're getting towards the end of the school year (at least here in England), and a lot of us are either school or university age, I thought it would be good to have a thread discussing exams, revision and the like :)

What's your best tip for revision? How do you fare in exams? What do you wish you could do better?

My usual tactic is to subdivide the information into small chunks which I then write out on flash cards which are easy to revise one at a time. My biggest problem is staying motivated to keep writing stuff out without getting distracted, so instead of actually taking a break when my limbic system tells me I want one, I go and do something related to the subject, a favorite being writing or listening to songs that are about what I'm studying, examples:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAigCKiqYvw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqDBB0no6dQ

I also find listening to white noise or nature recordings through earphones helps me to get 'in the zone' as it were.
Psychosis is such an ugly word... I prefer Internalised Reality Warping.

"Theis, you can't touch my boobies, at least buy me dinner first!" ~Asks, 09/08/2014

T' Northerner
Of Few Words

Re: Exams

Post by T' Northerner » Sun May 26, 2013 8:30 am

I go through my notes (or, more usually the much better notes on the moodle or from the textbook) and make 'posters' of important information, equations and derivations. Creating them forces me to process the information properly in the first place, as opposed to just scanning the notes and not taking them in. It also helps me to remember them as I create a mental representation of my room, and I can 'see' where the poster for the relevant information is and look at it in my head.