Crowd-sourced funding for Goblins comic?

Discuss the comic here!
thinkslogically
Game Master

Crowd-sourced funding for Goblins comic?

Post by thinkslogically » Thu Dec 12, 2013 7:30 am

Ok, first of all: Mods, please move this post if you think it's in the wrong place or would do better elsewhere.
Second of all: I have no experience of and nothing to do with the following website, it just seemed like a cool idea.

---------------------------------

If any of you read SMBC, you might have noticed today's comic is a link to a website called 'Patreon' which appears to be a way to allow fans of an online artistic medium to patronise it by providing money to fund the art in return for something exclusive. Kind of like kickstarter, but smaller amounts and more long-term. Anyway, it got me thinking that this might be something that could work for THunt and goblins? There seem to be different ways to set up the funding, so contributors could pay e.g. a monthly amount, or a set value every time a comic is posted (which you can restrict to a max. amount per month). It might be a more reliable source of income than ads (though there's no reason to get rid of them either) and having a pay-per-update would mean that fans only pay for the content they really want to see (so, maybe e.g. filler comics don't get paid for).

With the fanbase around here I'm sure there would be a few people willing to support it and it might be worth a try.

I haven't looked into any of the details or FAQs or any of that though, just had a quick glance at a couple of projects :)

EDIT: Link is here: http://www.patreon.com/

LooksAndSmiles
Game Master

Re: Crowd-sourced funding for Goblins comic?

Post by LooksAndSmiles » Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:22 am

The only problem is that... when will Thunt actually have time to give you something for the goodies you leave?